Home Australian Sound Design Project

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next

Beaming the Theremin

Go to Gallery Page Beaming the Theremin
Related EntriesAudio Visual Gallery
Location: Grainger Museum, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Curator: Ros Bandt
Theremin: Jon Drummond
Lighting and Projection Artist: Hugh McSpedden
Audio Engineering: David Collins

Beaming the Theremin transforms the Grainger Museum into a lotus flower of electronic sound and light. Inspired by Grainger’s penchant for the theremin, and his idea of incorporating spotlights in his final Free Music machine, the Electric-Eye Tone-Tool, Beaming celebrates his pioneering work with electronic music and machines. Composer, performer, designer, innovator in multimedia and technology, Grainger was a truly inter-disciplinary artist embracing new ideas with experiment, brilliance, hard work and refinement. This spirit continues today.

The two-hour concert of Australia’s newest and finest electro-acoustic music presents the work of twenty artists, paying homage to Grainger. Many are world premieres.

The Artists: Aether (Leigh Perdrisat & Steve Oakes), Roger Alsop, Warren Burt, Brigid Burke, Densil Cabrera, Tristram Cary, Roger Dean, Paul Doornbusch, Ian Fredericks, Andrew Garton, Michael Hannan, Karlin Love, Gordon Monro, Paul Moulatlet, Ron Nagorcka, Jon Rose, Alessandro Servadei, Phil Slater and Mitchell Whitelaw.

Related Entries for Beaming the Theremin




Top of Page

Prepared by: Iain Mott
Created: 25 June 2002
Modified: 18 July 2002

Published by The University of Melbourne
Comments, questions, corrections and additions: i.mott@unimelb.edu.au
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 18 January 2007

[ Top of page | Australian Sound Design Project Home | Browse | Search ]